Rich Text
Rich Text
How 'Love Island USA' Became The Show Of The Summer
3
Preview
0:00
-11:21

How 'Love Island USA' Became The Show Of The Summer

Laura Bassett joins Emma to dig into the franchise's cult-like following.
3

“Love Island USA” did its big one this season. (Like so much of “Love Island” lingo… if you know you know. Soul Ties is craaaaaazy!)

I was a self-enforced “Love Island” ascetic. I avoided the show at all costs, didn’t want to understand how it worked, and didn’t even want to be tempted to watch it. I mean, there are just SO MANY EPISODES each season! How could I possibly keep up? Turns out… I can. I followed Ariana Madix straight from the bowels of “Vanderpump Rules” over to Peacock and into a new reality cult.

And apparently I wasn’t the only one, because this season absolutely blew up. The ratings doubled between seasons 5 and 6, it became one of the most-streamed shows of the summer, and the memes are all over Twitter, Instagram and TikTok. (Rob’s overalls! Kaylor’s “fuuuuuuuckahhh Aaron”! Basically everything that Leah says! PPG!)

This post is for paid subscribers

Rich Text
Rich Text
Claire Fallon and Emma Gray obsessively analyze our cultural obsessions, from fashion trends to books to the buzziest scripted TV shows.