Rich Text
Rich Text
RHONY Has Entered Its Hot Girl Era
3
Preview
0:00
-15:54

RHONY Has Entered Its Hot Girl Era

How a new generation of "Real Housewives of New York" is bringing joy back to RHONY.
3
Photo Credit: Bravo / Canva

I may not have been an OG fan of “The Real Housewives of New York City,” but I was a dedicated one. I watched Countess Luann incessantly discuss her cabaret show, I knew all about the fish room and the lower level, and I couldn’t wait to watch the boat ride from hell.

And yet, in 2021, deep in pandemic-land, I found myself dreading watching RHONY. The once vibrant show’s 13th season was… a total bummer. After a formal investigation was launched into allegations of racism made by the show’s first Black housewife Eboni K. Williams and a staffer against RHONY lifer Ramona Singer, the network decided to scrap the season 13 reunion altogether and then to clean house.

It was a risk, and many Bravo fans wondered if it would pay off. Could the magic of RHONY be realized again? It turns out, for me at least, the answer is yes.

This post is for paid subscribers

Rich Text
Rich Text
Claire Fallon and Emma Gray obsessively analyze our cultural obsessions, from fashion trends to books to the buzziest scripted TV shows.